Posted on June 19, 2017 at 11:30 pm

The Third Annual Post-Tony Extravaganza lived up to its name in gloriously extravagant style. Fresh from starring in Amélie on Broadway, the supernova Phillipa Soo came to join us, bringing her crystal-clear voice to a dazzling variety of songs, including (for delicious fun) a song made famous by her fiancé when he starred in The Bridges Of Madison County. I’d never gotten to work with Pippa before, and it was amazing to hear her transform and inhabit my songs so thoroughly. (And her pitch is unbelievable!)

But it takes more than one radiantly beautiful Broadway star to make an extravaganza. To that end, I invited the powerhouse Caucasian Rhythm Kings Horns to join us, as well as cellomonster Mairi Dorman-Phaneuf, and then two brilliant singers, our old friend Jesse Warren-Nager and our new genius friend Patrice Covington. And since I recently found out that King Kong won’t be using any of my songs when it comes to Broadway this winter, I decided to give my favorite of those songs a huge fully-orchestrated and epically belted sendoff!

Jesse helped us celebrate Pride Week with his Sylvester-inspired take on “Invisible”; I toasted my brother’s birthday with “Nothing In Common”; Mairi was extra-excited to finally get to play in the last thirty-two measures of “Moving Too Fast”; and I got to preview the horn charts for some of the songs on the new album (which we’re in the middle of recording)!

We’re taking one month off from the Residency because I’m going to be deep in rehearsals for Prince of Broadway, but we’re back on August 21 with the return of the devastating Lena Hall! Tickets to Show #28 are available right here!

Everybody Knows (2017)
Nothing’s Bigger Than Kong no longer from King Kong (2016)
PHILLIPA: And I Will Follow from Songs of Jason Robert Brown (2003)
PHILLIPA: Another Life from The Bridges of Madison County (2014)
PHILLIPA: Times Are Hard For Dreamers from Amélie, music by Daniel Messé, lyric by Nathan Tysen (2017)
Nothing In Common from Wearing Someone Else’s Clothes (2005)
Advice to the Playaz lyric by Willy the Shake (2013)
JESSE: Invisible (2016)
PHILLIPA: Cassandra from The Connector (2016)
PHILLIPA: Still Hurting from The Last Five Years (2002)
PHILLIPA: It All Fades Away from The Bridges of Madison County (2014)
Melinda (2015)
Moving Too Fast from The Last Five Years (2002)
When You Say Vegas from Honeymoon In Vegas (2015)

Jason Robert Brown: piano, vocals
Phillipa Soo: vocals
Jesse Warren-Nager: vocals
Patrice Covington: vocals
Tony Kadleck: trumpet
Marc Phaneuf: flute, clarinet, alto and tenor sax
Rob DeBellis: tenor and baritone sax
Clint Sharman: tenor and bass trombone
Mairi Dorman-Phaneuf: cello
Gary Sieger: acoustic and electric guitars
Justin Goldner: acoustic and electric guitars, mandolin, banjo
Randy Landau: electric and acoustic bass
Jamie Eblen: drums and percussion